Nitish sworn in, BJP picks two Dy CMs in NDA social balancing


    Nitish sworn in, BJP selects two Dy CMs in NDA social balancing

    Written by Santosh Singh
    | Patna |

    November 17, 2020 5: 01: 15 am

    Nitish sworn in, BJP picks two Dy CMs in NDA social balancing Nitish with deputy CMs Tarkishore Prasad and Renu Devi, after swearing-in, in Patna Monday. PTI

    Nitish Kumar took oath as Bihar Chief Minister for the seventh time on Monday with 2 Deputy Chief Ministers from the BJP— four-time Katihar MLA Tarkishore Prasad and four-time Bettiah MLA Renu Devi.

    A total of 15 ministers were administered the oath of workplace by Bihar Governor Phagu Chauhan– seven from the BJP, consisting of Tarkishore Prasad and Renu Devi; 6 from the JD( U), consisting of Nitish; and one each from the Vikassheel Insaan Celebration (VIP) and Hindustani Awam Morcha (Secular).

    LIKEWISE CHECK OUT| RJD blames Congress for defeat; boycotts Nitish swearing-in event

    Union Home Minister Amit Shah and BJP national president J P Nadda were amongst those who attended the event.

    Congratulating Nitish, Prime Minister Narendra Modi tweeted: “The NDA household will work together for the development of Bihar. I assure all possible assistance from the Centre for the welfare of Bihar.”

    The BJP’s previous deputy chief minister, Sushil Kumar Modi, who has been dropped this time, might be accommodated at the Centrce, however there is no main word yet. Sushil Modi initially became Deputy Chief Minister in 2005, when Nitish pertained to power, and retained the post ever since– except when Jitan Ram Manjhi was Chief Minister in between 2014 and 2015, and when the JD( U) was with the RJD in 2015-2017

    Besides Nitish, the other JD( U) ministers are: veteran party leader Bijendra Prasad Yadav, previous Assembly Speaker Vijay Kumar Choudhary, the celebration’s state working president Ashok Kumar Choudhary, Tarapur MLA and former Vice Chancellor of Sabour Farming University Mewalal Choudhary, and newbie MLA from Phulparas Sheela Kumari.

    The JD( U), which is down from 71 seats to 43, has kept social engineering in mind in its choice of ministers, offering representation to the upper caste (Vijay Kumar Choudhary), Extremely Backwards Class (Sheela Kumari), Arranged Caste (Ashok Kumar Choudhary), and Other Backwards Class (Mewalal Choudhary and Bijendra Prasad Yadav). Vijay Kumar Choudhary and Ashok Kumar Choudhary are understood to be near Nitish.

    The BJP, which increased its tally from 53 seats to 74 in the 243- member Assembly, has actually followed the Uttar Pradesh formula with two Deputy Chief Ministers.

    While Tarkishore Prasad and Renu Devi belong to the OBC and EBC respectively, former Bihar Health Minister Mangal Pandey, Ara MLA Amrendra Pratap Singh and Jale MLA Jiwesh Kumar represent the upper caste. Ramsurat Rai, OBC leader from Muzaffarpur, and Rampreet Paswan, Scheduled Caste MLA from Rajnagar in Mithilanchal belt, are the other two BJP ministers.

    While former minister and seven-time Patna Saheb MLA Nand Kishore Yadav did not take oath on Monday, he is tipped to be the Assembly Speaker– a post held by the JD( U) so far.

    Prem Kumar, another senior party leader who was not included in today’s list of ministers, might be accommodated later.

    VIP chief Mukesh Sahani, who lost by a narrow margin from Simri Bakhtiyarpur, likewise took oath on Monday. As assured by the BJP previously, he will be sent out to the Upper Home in the state. From the HAM, former Chief Minister Jitan Ram Manjhi’s child and MLC Santosh Kumar Suman took oath. Both the VIP and HAM won four seats each.

    On The Other Hand, the Opposition Mahagatbandhan alliance boycotted the oath-taking event, with state RJD president Jagdanand Singh calling it “loot of the required”. The RJD became the single largest party with 75 seats.

    In a tweet, RJD leader Tejashwi Yadav congratulated Nitish for being “chosen” as the Chief Minister. “I hope he makes his concern favorable problems such as goals of individuals of Bihar, the NDA’s pledge of 19 lakh tasks– employment, education, health, livelihood, irrigation and justice– instead of his aspiration for the chair,” he tweeted.

    In an evident swipe at Nitish, LJP president Chirag Paswan tweeted: “I praise you on ending up being the chief minister and the BJP for making you one … Hope the government will complete its term and you will continue to be the NDA’s primary minister.”

    In another tweet, he termed the NDA’s success in the state surveys as “a big win for Prime Minister Narendra Modi”.

    Prashant Kishor, once Nitish’s close assistant tweeted: “With a worn out and politically belittled leader as CM, #Bihar needs to brace for couple of more years of lacklustre governance”.

    The Indian Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@indianexpress) and remain upgraded with the latest headlines

    For all the current India News, download Indian Express App.

    ( the heading, this story has not been published by Essential India News personnel and is released from a syndicated feed.).


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here