Gujarat civic polls: AAP shines in Surat, AIMIM toehold in Ahmedabad


    Gujarat civic polls: AAP shines in Surat, AIMIM toehold in Ahmedabad

    By: Express News Service|Gandhinagar |

    February 23, 2021 7: 56: 51 pm

    AAP employees commemorate outside Surat workplace. (Twitter/AAPGujarat)

    Even as the Bharatiya Janata Celebration( BJP) maintained power in all 6 municipal corporations results of which were declared on Monday, the Delhi-based Aam Aadmi Party(AAP) that objected to in Gujarat for first time, won 27 seats, all in Surat Municipal Corporation with the Congress not getting a single of the 120 seats in the city where it had actually gained ground in2015 The All-India Majlis-e-Ittehadul-Muslimeen which contested 21 seats in AMC won seven catching them from Congress.

    The number of seats of the Congress went down in all the six cities, while in Surat AAP changed it as the main opposition. Till around 7 pm, the BJP had actually won 463 of the 575 seats while the Congress had actually won 44, AAP 27, and Bahujan Samaj Celebration 3 in Jamnagar and one went to an independent.


    ??????????????????????. #GujaratElections

    — AAP Gujarat (@AAPGujarat) February 23, 2021

    Union minister Amit Shah took to Twitter to congratulate the ‘people of Gujarat’ for “reinstilling their faith in the BJP’s sign of advancement and progress”. Shah stated while also congratulating chief minister Vijay Rupani, deputy chief minister Nitin Patel and celebration chief CR Paatil, “the main and state federal governments have been working for the welfare of the poor, backward, and deprived areas under the management of prime minister Narendra Modi”. He said this huge triumph was owing to the ‘ niti‘ (policies) and ‘ niyat‘ (intent) of the BJP.

    Following the election results, Gujarat BJP announced a public function to greet the party employees at its Ahmedabad city head office in Khanpur. In his very first reaction to the celebration’s success in the metropolitan regional bodies, Rupani thanked all party workers for their hard work and provided a guarantee to the people of Gujarat that the confidence troubled BJP by them will not enter vain.

    ” The federal government will leave no stone unturned for the advancement of the six community corporations in the coming days,” Rupani included.

    Delhi Chief Minister and AAP supremo Arvind Kejriwal invited the election results and tweeted, “ Nai rajniti ki shuruaat karne ke liye Gujarat ke logo ko dil se badhai! (Heartily praise the people of Gujarat for starting a new type of politics).”

    Voting for 575 seats of 144 wards of the six community corporations was hung on Sunday and the outcomes were declared after counting of votes Tuesday. BJP won a seat in Naranpura ward uncontested.

    The 6 local corporations experienced average 46% ballot with Jamnagar taping an optimum citizen turnout of 53.38% and Ahmedabad the lowest at 42.51%

    In 2015, BJP had won 142 out of the 192 seats in Ahmedabad Municipal Corporation (AMC). Congress had actually won 49 seats. In Surat, BJP’s numbers had decreased to 80 seats of the 116 while the Congress gained 22 seats in a swing that was mainly viewed as the impact of the Patidar agitation led by Hardik Patel‘s Patidar Anamat Andolan Samiti (PAAS). In 2015 and Congress sat in opposition with 36 seats.

    In Vadodara, out of 76 seats, BJP had 58 seats and Congress14 In Rajkot, by winning 34 of overall 72 seats, Congress had provided a close fight to BJP which got power with 38 seats.

    In Jamnagar Municipal Corporation, out of total 64 seats, BJP got power with 38 seats and Congress got 2. In Bhavnagar Municipal Corporation likewise, BJP got power by winning 34 of the overall 52 seats.

    ( the heading, this story has not been released by Important India News staff and is published from a syndicated feed.).


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here