Diwali 2020: List of states, UTs which have banned sale and bursting of firecrackers


    Diwali 2020: List of states, UTs which have banned sale and bursting of firecrackers

    While India prepares to celebrate the colour of lights Deepawali, several states and Union Territories have actually imposed a ban on firecrackers and its sale in case of increased air pollution and coronavirus crisis in the nation.

    The National Green Tribunal on Monday enforced a total restriction on the sale and use of firecrackers in the National Capital Area from midnight of November 9 to midnight of November 30.

    Just green crackers can be sold in cities or towns where air quality is “moderate” or below, and the timings for use and bursting of crackers be limited to two hours during festivals, like Diwali, Chhath, New Year/Christmas eve, the NGT had said.

    If the timing was not specified by the states worried, green crackers will be allowed cities with “moderate” air quality and listed below, from 8 to 10 pm on Diwali and Gurupurab, 6 am to 8 am on Chhath and 11.55 pm to 12.30 am throughout Christmas and New year eve.

    So far, an overall of 13 states have imposed a restriction on firecrackers:


    Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal on November 5 revealed the ban on using firecrackers in the national capital after reviewing the circumstance. “Coronavirus cases have increased due to the festival season and contamination. It was chosen to prohibit crackers in Delhi and increase medical infrastructure, amongst other measures,” he said.

    Kejriwal also interested individuals to not use firecrackers this Diwali for the security of their kids and household.

    Uttar Pradesh

    Uttar Pradesh federal government on Tuesday enforced a blanket ban on the sale and usage of all kinds of firecrackers this Diwali, starting from November 10 midnight to November 30- December 1 midnight.

    The government likewise said that the order will be reviewed after the conclusion of this period.

    However, the Yogi Adityanath-led BJP federal government in the state has also stated that just green firecrackers can be offered and used in the districts with ‘moderate’ or better air quality.


    The Bihar State Pollution Control Panel on Friday put a total restriction on the sale or usage of firecrackers in Patna, Muzaffarpur and Gaya, complying with the National Green Tribunals (NGT) instruction for maintaining ambient air quality in all cities and towns where it was “poor or worse”.


    Maharashtra federal government on November 6 issued standards for the residents to keep in mind while celebrating Diwali. The government advised individuals to not burst crackers during Diwali as it damages the environment and contributes to air pollution and sound pollution.

    Mumbai’s civic body, the BrihanMumbai Municipal Corporation (BMC) enforced a ban on the bursting of firecrackers at public places throughout Diwali in view of increasing COVID-19 cases in the city.


    The Supreme Court on Friday customized the Telangana High Court order and given partial relief to Telangana Fire Functions Dealers Association (TFWDA) enabling the sale and bursting of green crackers for two hours during Diwali.


    Noted as a non-attainment city, the Chandigarh administration on Thursday decided to continue the restriction on crackers.

    Declining the review petition to lift the cracker ban by traders, Advisor Manoj Parida passed the order to ban the crackers under the Catastrophe Management Act of 2005.

    The Central Contamination Control Board has actually alerted this city as one of the non-attainment cities, or those whose air quality is even worse than the prescribed standards.

    West Bengal

    The Calcutta High Court on November 5 ordered a ban on breaking and sale of all sort of crackers or fireworks for Kali Puja, Diwali, and Chhatpuja in West Bengal.


    On November 3, the Odisha federal government had actually passed an order prohibiting the sale and use of firecrackers across the state during the joyful season to inspect air contamination which can produce major issues for COVID-19 patients. According to the government’s order, the ban will remain in location from November 10 to 30.

    ” Anybody discovered violating this order will be punished under the arrangement of the Catastrophe Management Act, 2005 and other pertinent laws,” the order said.


    Rajasthan Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot was the very first to reveal the ban on the sale and bursting of firecrackers throughout Diwali this year. On November 2, Gehlot tweeted, “State govt has actually taken the decision to prohibit the sale and bursting of firecrackers in order to secure the health of COVID-19 infected patients & public from toxic smoke emanating due to fireworks. In this tough corona pandemic time, protecting the lives of people is critical for govt.”


    Due to the beginning of a pandemic, the Sikkim federal government has enforced a total ban on firecrackers throughout the state till additional notification is provided.


    The Union Territory of Chandigarh has actually likewise provided a restriction on selling and bursting of firecrackers of all types with instant effect.


    Haryana Chief Minister Manohar Lal Khattar said on Monday that relaxation of two hours from 8 pm would be offered to bursting crackers on Diwali.

    The Chief Minister said in a statement that the Supreme Court and the National Green Tribunal have actually provided authorization to burst crackers for a minimal time duration due to increasing pollution in Delhi.


    On November 6, Karnataka Chief Minister BS Yediyurappa announced the ban on making use of firecrackers in the state, including that an official order in this regard will be released soon.

    However, hours after the CM’s announcement, the Karnataka federal government revealed that the sale and bursting of ‘green crackers’, as per Supreme Court standards, will be allowed in the state throughout Deepavali.

    The National Green Tribunal (NGT) had provided notices to 23 states and Union areas concerning the imposition of a restriction on firecrackers in a bid to protect the health of the susceptible groups amidst the double whammy of contamination crisis and the COVID-19 pandemic.

    This came two days after the NGT provided a notification to the environment ministry, Delhi cops commissioner, governments of Delhi, Haryana, Uttar Pradesh and Rajasthan, Central Pollution Control Board and DPCC on whether the firecrackers be prohibited for some duration.

    ( the heading, this story has actually not been published by Essential India News personnel and is published from a syndicated feed.).


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here