Cricket: Williamson, Boult Skip T20s As NZ Focus On Test Championship


    Cricket: Williamson, Boult Skip T20 s As NZ Focus On Test Championship

    WELLINGTON: Kane Williamson and Trent Boult will skip New Zealand’s Twenty20 series against West Indies to ensure they are getting ready to choose next month’s test series versus the Caribbean islanders, Black Caps coach Gary Stead stated in calling his squads on Tuesday.

    New Zealand are presently 4th worldwide Test Championship and need to beat West Indies in the two-test series in December to press their claim for a spot in the last at Lord’s next year.

    Captain Williamson and strike bowler Boult will therefore miss November’s three minimal overs matches, while pacemen Tim Southee and Kyle Jamieson along with batsman Ross Taylor will play in only the first 2 Twenty20 s.

    ” We’ve needed to decide on Kane and Trent to prioritise the test matches, provided how crucial they are to our red-ball team and the reality they both played such huge functions in the current IPL while likewise handling injuries,” Stead said after revealing the squads.

    ” There’s no trick we’re right in the hunt for the World Test Champion last following our two-nil win over India and having Trent and Kane fully fit and focussed for the upcoming series will be important.”

    South African-born top order batsman Devon Conway was included in the Twenty20 team, his first global call-up given that becoming eligible to represent New Zealand.

    All-rounder Colin de Grandhomme and spinner Ajaz Patel were called in the test team despite carrying foot and calf injuries, respectively.

    ” It’s too early at this phase to definitively state what their opportunities are however we’re hopeful the next 2 weeks will make that clearer,” Stead included.

    New Zealand will also host Pakistan for a two-test series around the New Year.

    Test squad: Kane Williamson (c), Tom Blundell, Trent Boult, Colin de Grandhomme, Kyle Jamieson, Tom Latham, Henry Nicholls, Ajaz Patel, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, Neil Wagner, BJ Watling, Will Young.

    Disclaimer: This post has been auto-published from a firm feed without any modifications to the text and has not been reviewed by an editor


    ( the heading, this story has not been released by Crucial India News staff and is published from a syndicated feed.).


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here