10 Things To Know About The Tejas Light Combat Aircraft


    10 Things To Know About The Tejas Light Fight Aircraft

    10 Things To Know About The Tejas Light Combat Aircraft

    Tejas is a fully-weaponised light fighter with a single engine (File image)

    New Delhi:
    The union cabinet today authorized the purchase of 73 Tejas LCA fighter jets and 10 trainer aircraft for a cost of Rs 45,696 crore. In a declaration released this night the government said the 73 Tejas LCA fighter aircraft would become “a powerful platform to fulfill the functional requirements of the Indian Air Force”. The decision was taken at a meeting of the Cabinet Committee on Security (CCS) chaired by Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Defence Minister Rajnath Singh said. In a tweet, Mr Singh said the offer will be a “game-changer” for self-reliance in defence production in India. The defence minister stated Tejas is going to be the backbone of the fighter fleet of the Indian Flying force in years to come.

    Here are 10 realities about the Tejas aircraft:

    1. The Tejas Mk-1A Light Combat Airplane is an indigenously created and manufactured fourth-generation fighter with vital operational capabilities that consist of an Active Electronically-Scanned Array (AESA) radar, an Electronic Warfare (EW) suite, and is capable of air-to-air refuelling (AAR).

    2. It is India’s very first self-made fighter jet and got the last functional clearance for induction into the air force as a fully-weaponised fighter jet in February 2019.

    3. The final functional clearance or FOC aircraft of Tejas has numerous additional capabilities compared to the preliminary functional clearance or IOC aircraft – the main one being a more innovative missile capability with a substantially enhanced variety.

    4. The indigenously-developed aircraft has been made at the Hindustan Aeronautics Limited (HAL) and developed by the Aeronautical Advancement Firm (ADA) for the Indian Flying Force and the Indian Navy.

    5. Tejas is a fully-weaponised light fighter with a single engine.

    6. Although a light-weight aircraft with a brief variety, Tejas airplane can carry the same range of contemporary weapons that larger warplanes bring, from precision assisted and standoff weapons to long-range ‘beyond visual range’ missiles that can remove opponent planes from a safe range.

    7. Tejas has lots of advanced functions like: Beyond Visual Variety Rocket abilities, Air-to-Air Refuelling and Air-to-Ground weapons.

    8. The military air travel regulator had actually offered the preliminary functional clearance or IOC to LCA Tejas in 2013 and inducted it into the Indian Air Force’s 45 Squadron in July 2016 to prepare for battle preparedness.

    9. In Might in 2015, the Flying force operationalised its second squadron of home-made Tejas fighter jets, appointing them to its No 18 Squadron – the ‘Flying Bullets’ – based at Sulur near Coimbatore in Tamil Nadu. The squadron was equipped with fourth generation Mk1 Tejas LCA airplane.

    10. The marine version of the Tejas, in advancement phase, effectively performed “detained landings” on the carrier INS Vikramaditya.


    ( the headline, this story has not been published by Important India News personnel and is published from a syndicated feed.).


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here